I hope history never repeats itself

I hope history never repeats itself

A Poem by TTBoy

I got a great education in the ’80s

With the likes of Bronski Beat and Dead or Alive

it was a great time to be alive

Madonna made everyone take a Holiday

and cross the Borderline

and it was such a great time to be alive

I had gorgeous teachers

I mean, professors

who wanted to take me on a Magic Carpet Ride

that would then have me doing the Electric Slide

I tried a few of the dances

but they weren’t for me

I got nailed by one on a Manic Monday

I can’t believe I can still hear The Bangles

even to this day

Like I said,

I got a great education in the ’80s

And by the time I heard Prince

sing about the Sign ‘O The Times

so many of those I had grown close to

had succumbed to that “big disease with a little name”

that had an incubation period of seven years

or so they said

And I hid

remembering the joy of Smalltown Boy and

Brand New Lover while Robert Smith got Close to Me

and became my Cure

Shame

I can’t even locate any of my educators on Facebook

If they pulled out when I did

they should still be around

The groups I relished back then

are now in history

I hope that the bathroom stalls aren’t just

painted over

Today

it takes people longer to fade into obscurity

The education I got

is priceless

But I do take a Holiday

every chance I get

© 2010 TTBoy

About ttboy28

Buddhist, writer, friend, actor, love new things, love old things, hard worker, passionate worker, single
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment